Home What's new? Reviews Buy Support

Book Collector reviews

November 24, 2017
High value for our money
I love your apps/software, and i think that we (your customers) get a very high value for our money. Its incredible how much we get for very little money. I hope you never stop supporting your apps/software, because i want to use it for the rest of my life. Im soon going to learn my mother how to buy and use it for her books.
I have tried A LOT of books- database apps/software and none of them come anywhere near your products. Thank you so much for your exceptional work:-) — Tine Sandvold (Norway) on Book Collector
November 24, 2017
A pleasure
I have to say, you, your wife, and the whole Collectorz team have been a pleasure to work with over the years - I’ve demonstrated your product to many other faculty members, several of whom bought the product. Most of the others thought I was too obsessive…….. — Tom Foss (USA) on Book Collector
November 16, 2017
A verry satisfied customer
I'm a user of bookcollector since its start. I didn't pay attention to the required update and I ran into a lot of troubles, which I created myself, on Sunday last. I contacted the help desk and I got a response in the same hour I posted my help call. This was the start of a lot of mails and eventually my booklist I feared to have lost, reappeared on my iPad and PC. I'm verry happy, not only with the product but even more with the kindly support, given with great patience for a hard learner... A trustworthy company. I'll have to learn how to use the extra feature but I'm sure that help is always available! — Remy Vanden Berghe (Belgium) on Book Collector
November 10, 2017
Enjoy Book Collector
I have really enjoyed Book Collector and your other programs and always recommend them to anybody who has collections. — Mike Provost (USA) on Book Collector
October 11, 2017
Excellent software
This is excellent software. Thank you to all of the Collectorz staff for developing and maintaining the product. — Dave Nash (USA) on Book Collector
October 03, 2017
Love this application
Bought the permanent app about a day after 'playing' with the startup offer. Gradually going through the some 1500 (?) books I have and cataloguing them. Good work for the winter if it is particualarly snowy this year:) — Rick Jones (USA) on Book Collector
September 02, 2017
Love your product!!!
That solution worked perfectly!! Thank you for your help and expertise. I was afraid I lost my books and work and you really came through for me. Thanks again and have a great weekend!!!! — Robert Mark (USA) on Book Collector
August 29, 2017
Love it
Use it and love it. Finally have my collection catalogued after years of putting it off. — Rod Mollise (USA) on Book Collector
August 29, 2017
Always have my list with me
I have this software for my 800+ books. A great way to always have my list with me, to prevent the occasional "double purchase" of a book. I recommend to you for your library. — Thomas L Hiegel (USA) on Book Collector
August 28, 2017
Fabulous
I also have the full version of the book database it is fabulous as I love books and also music which I also have a full version, I also have movies data base as I Have a huge collection of DVD, the databases are amazing they help keep my life organized. — Marion Morella (Australia) on Book Collector
August 25, 2017
Book collection
I also have just started on this giant task, but thanks to Collectorz, I can finally come to grips with our book collection. — Mary Corrado (USA) on Book Collector
August 12, 2017
Great
I use book collector, 12 years now, great. — Toby Schwartzburg (USA) on Book Collector
August 11, 2017
For every book I own
They are absolutely correct about insurance. Lost my father's ww2 and civil war books in a fire and couldn't get them replaced. Today I have this software for every book I own!! — Teresa Alice (USA) on Book Collector
August 10, 2017
Hooray!
This is a great program! I can now show books checked out from my classroom library online. Hooray! Thank you! — Angela Olson (USA) on Book Collector
August 09, 2017
Catalog system
Your catalog system is , by far, the best I've ever used! — George Riley (USA) on Book Collector
August 08, 2017
Makes the lending of books a breeze
As Library Coordinator for our chapter of a national environmental organization I use Book Collector to stay organized. The software makes the lending of books a breeze. We have over 230 books which some of your respondents would scoff at but, since I haul the books to monthly meetings, it is plenty big enough.
I value Book Collector highly and rely on it to keep track of all details of running a much used chapter library. Thank you and keep up the good work! — Virginia Watson (USA) on Book Collector
August 08, 2017
Years
Been using Book Collector for years!! — Andrea Levine (USA) on Book Collector
August 07, 2017
Absolutely splendid
I have found it to be absolutely splendid, especially as I have a large collection of books. I would heartily recommend it any book collection. — Roger Ward (United Kingdom) on Book Collector
August 07, 2017
GREAT!
I downloaded it and tried it on a book. It worked great! Thanks so much. — Brenda Wagner (USA) on Book Collector
August 05, 2017
This saves sanity
We have almost 8000 volumes in two houses so this saves sanity and for the most part duplicate purchases. I used to have a card catalog system, but with Book Collector I have books in certain rooms, in certain bookcases - really helps when you are looking for reference for a talk! — Ronda Barnhurst (USA) on Book Collector
July 29, 2017
A great product
We are using this at our car club Library with 5000+ books and 500+ lenders. A great product, at a very reasonable price, easy to use, easy to maintain and runs on machines with minimal resources.
I recommend this product to anyone wanting a maintain a small library....and I am an IT manager at a library for a living. — Neville Butler (Australia) on Book Collector
July 19, 2017
Highly recommend
I have this product for my (mostly signed) book collection and love it!! — Brian Engler (USA) on Book Collector
July 03, 2017
Love it!
I've had Book Collector on my desktop computer for several years and probably three computers. Love it! — Patricia Lemm (USA) on Book Collector
July 01, 2017
The best software
I found out about this software last year by accident after using another program for a long time. It truly is the best software and you get what you pay for - and it's worth every bit!!! (I just hope that I'll be able to renew when the time comes in December! LOL!) — Tony Trout (USA) on Book Collector
June 27, 2017
AWESOME program
THANKS for helping! I just KNEW it had to have an easy way to do it because the program is AWESOME. Have to take a quick minute to say I'm SO impressed and as a programmer myself, I usually find things I want to change, but not this program. It is REALLY well designed and so configurable.
My husband has been pushing me to go electronic with my catalog for a long time now and I was VERY resistant. Love the tactile card catalog. But after using your program extensively yesterday and finding all the new/improved features, I have to admit that my first reaction was "It's time to have a bonfire with my old paper system!" Actually, they'll all go into the recycle bin. Much better for the environment that way. There is just so much more that your program offers that the paper cards just can't do.
It is rare to find something programmed so well that is so user friendly. And it's made my life a lot easier. I have a LOT of books and because of the location field, we can find things a lot faster when the kids need something for a school research paper. I'm in the middle of cataloguing a huge collection in my spare time, and it goes so fast! A click or two and it's in with all the data. And the image of the cover is great when trying to locate it on the shelf! — Sarah Foster (USA) on Book Collector
June 24, 2017
Outstanding asset
Ive been using this for years and Movie Collector too. Simply an outstanding asset. Even after all this time I had a problem y'day when my Movies Collector appeared locked. A quick email and Alwin was back to me the same afternoon with simple advice. It means I can find any DVD or Book I want in my large collections, instantly. Plus, I don't buy stuff I already have when enthused by a jar or two ! — Max Williams (USA) on Book Collector
June 17, 2017
Marvellous
I use this program for my home library and a Church library I manage - Marvellous! I give the parishioners the cloud link and they can check our collection at home. — Anne Meehan Hughes (Australia) on Book Collector
June 14, 2017
Very impressed
I bought the package that included the desktop software and mobile app. I'm very impressed with both (and with your customer service). I'll be sure to recommend your products to my friends. — Kerry Snow (USA) on Book Collector
June 13, 2017
Makes life easier
I came across the program a couple years ago-- after realizing I had purchased duplicates.. I have a large collection of books as I progressed thru school. Love the program and the app to scan in barcodes. Makes life easier and I always know what books I already have. — Veronica Long (USA) on Book Collector
June 12, 2017
Location field
My wife and I are using it to catalog our several thousand books. We really like that we could add a location field. That way we might actually be able to find a book after it's been put away. — Mike O'Kelley (USA) on Book Collector
June 12, 2017
I loved it then and still do
I have had this software since I received the CD in the mail (yes, that long). I loved it then and still do. I would recommend it to anyone with a collection! — Stephanie Dean (USA) on Book Collector
June 09, 2017
Love it
I just bought this and I love it! — Donnie Porter (USA) on Book Collector
June 05, 2017
Best book database I've ever used!
I've just started using this software and love it. — Bev Mynott (United Kingdom) on Book Collector
June 03, 2017
Really like it
i have this software and really like it. i need to add a whole lot more of them to the list. right now i have the ones i've read since 2004. highly recommend. — Patti Leal (USA) on Book Collector
June 02, 2017
Recommended
Highly recommended! Have used it for a number of years. Love it! — Greg Roth (USA) on Book Collector
June 02, 2017
Classroom library
I have my classroom library catalogued with Book Collector. — Sherry Tull Weiss (USA) on Book Collector
June 01, 2017
Saves me from buying duplicates
I have been using this software for years to track my library as well as all books given as gifts. It saves me from buying duplicates. I also know exactly which shelf to find a book on. — Carol Bostian (USA) on Book Collector
May 31, 2017
Paid for itself
Fabulous program that's already paid for itself in saved duplication. As a portable catalogue of my library I couldn't ask for better. The seamless integration between phone app and desktop is fabulous. — Micheal O Doibhilin (Ireland) on Book Collector
May 30, 2017
Love it
I love it. I use the book and comic book versions. — Lisa Burt (USA) on Book Collector
May 25, 2017
I love my Book Collector software
Thank you for making the CLZ Barry app available at no cost! I love my Book Collector software, and your company, and I recommend all the Collectorz programs to everyone I think could possibly be interested. Have a great day! — Robin Mason (USA) on Book Collector
May 18, 2017
Simply the best
Best book cataloging software. Have purchased for all platforms. — Abhay Bakshi (India) on Book Collector
May 16, 2017
Keep track of my book collection
I keep track of my book collection at home and my wish list, I love used bookstores and use the Android app synced to my home Collectorz , cut downs on duplicates and and sure makes finding new authors and collections easy, can't recommend it enough. — Joseph Abbatello (USA) on Book Collector
May 12, 2017
Essential
Book Collector is absolutely essential for a book collecting enthusiast as myself. Been using it forward and would not be without it. — Aldron Lee (USA) on Book Collector
May 09, 2017
Keeps me from buying the same book twice
I love this software. I am a bookseller, and I recommend this to any customer who comes in bearing a paper list...it definitely keeps me from buying the same book twice...unless I actually MEAN to do that! — Scott Price (USA) on Book Collector
May 06, 2017
The perfect solution
Book Collector is the perfect solution for anyone who loves books. It’s extensive functions allow tracking of anything and everything about a book and how it is used, but not daunting if its only purpose is to manage a home library. The website is easy to use and the online manual is well-organized and clearly written.

As a blind computer user with Apple’s screen reader, I am always so grateful to find such a high degree of accessibility in a program like this. It is a blessing to be able to manage my home library without the need for much sighted help.

It is a credit to your programmers that the program is accessible. They obviously took care to meet the guidelines for its support. I suppose that not many blind folks care about books. My blindness came on in my 30s so I had a house full of treasures I wanted to recall, organize and pass along to my son. Audio books have kept me sane but there is nothing like a book in hand and turning a page. I fear before too long too few will be able to know that pleasure.

I have enjoyed working with you. Your communication skills are outstanding. I hope that whoever pays you recognizes the value in that .

If you are ever in the USA and near North Carolina, Do let me know. I would like to thank you in person and buy you dinner for all this effort on my behalf. Truly. — Leslie Stephens (USA) on Book Collector

May 05, 2017
Love your program
I absolutely love your program as well as the recent updates to the look and the increased speed. — Benno Baksteen (Netherlands) on Book Collector
April 29, 2017
The greatest thing
You system has been one of the greatest things I have ever found on the computer!!!!Being able to carry your "catalogue" around on you IPhone is great. — Andy Long (USA) on Book Collector
April 25, 2017
I love this one
I love this one, I have it! :D as well as the movie collector, the music collector, and the games (I think). I've just moved into a new place and will be using the book one (finally) as I unpack them. The movies I think I got all of them entered as I packed them. So I am ahead of the game there. Thank you ever so much for the great programs! Much better than just an excel spreadsheet lol. — Cathryn Darkwind (USA) on Book Collector
April 25, 2017
Cannot tell you how much money it has saved me
Bought Book Collector just before I moved so did not have time to scan any in. I also have owned Movie Collector for a few years and cannot tell you how much money it has saved me. I had always been in a store going "I love that movie" and buying it only to find several weeks later I already have it. With the mobile apps, I can double check for those I own. — Pamela Farnsworth (USA) on Book Collector
April 20, 2017
Intuitive
Very intuitive software. It's a pleasure to work with! — Dan Olson (USA) on Book Collector
April 20, 2017
Top notch
You know that this brand is top notch if Martha Stewart gives it the stamp of approval! — Ronald Price (USA) on Book Collector
April 19, 2017
Top notch
You know that this brand is top notch if Martha Stewart gives it the stamp of approval! — Ronald Price (USA) on Book Collector
April 18, 2017
Intuitive
Very intuitive software. It's a pleasure to work with! — Dan G Olson (USA) on Book Collector
April 18, 2017
Fabulous
I've been using this for many years - fabulous!!! — Sheila Browning (United Kingdom) on Book Collector
April 12, 2017
Amazed and impressed
I am constantly amazed and impressed by the distance you've come with this software over the course of the years. When I started entering material in my database, there were a variety of books that weren't in your database yet. I skipped some of them, planning to come back once I made my first rude entries. Several years later, I'm finally getting around to it and many of those books are in your database now.
Excellent work. — Ellen Edge (USA) on Book Collector
April 10, 2017
Fabulous
I've used this program for many years. It's fabulous! No, I don't have all my books on it yet. But every chance I get I wrap the next book in a brodart and put it in the program. Their product is worth price, if not more! — Catherine Bader (USA) on Book Collector
April 10, 2017
Books and DVDs
I created databases of my books and DVD several years ago (OK, decade ago) using MSAccess. It left a lot to be desired. With this app and CZBarry I entered my entire book collection, 1200+, and my 980+ DVD collection in less time than entering the pertinent data for maybe twenty books. I doubt I spent but two hours on the lot with the exception of my pre-barcode era books. Hey, a book printed in 1908 won't have that.

The app does take some learning and I'm still not up to speed with it. But without it I'd still be scanning slip covers and typing into the wee hours of every day to get everything entered to the extent this app provides. — Floyd Mack (USA) on Book Collector

April 10, 2017
Great job
I simply love Book Collector! You've been doing a great job. — Marcello Montore (Brazil) on Book Collector
April 08, 2017
High praise
I have been using this program for a few years now and have nothing but high praise for CLZ and its people. Fantastic software and terrific support. — Julie MC (Australia) on Book Collector
April 08, 2017
Fan
Been a fan and user of Books. Great app and a great bunch of people. — Lynne Coates (New Zealand) on Book Collector
April 07, 2017
Great product
Thank you for such a great product. I've been using it for a couple weeks now and have really appreciated the detail put into the program. I especially like being able to sync with my iPhone so I have my collection list wherever I go. — Camy Tang (USA) on Book Collector
March 20, 2017
Kudos
Kudos on keeping the greatness coming -- love the software and have for a long time now. — Thomas Christian (USA) on Book Collector
March 18, 2017
The best
One of the best pieces of software I have had the pleasure of finding. — ‎Jan L. Boggess (USA) on Book Collector
March 10, 2017
Praise!
I just thought I would drop you a note to say how pleased I am with your software. I have previously fiddled around with several competitor products for maintaining a database of my book collection - including apps which run on Android devices as well as Windows. I came upon Book Collector for Windows last week, tried it, and found that it is easily the best product of its class - absolutely well worth the money you ask for it (and probably much more!).

I can genuinely say this is one of the best thought out database systems I have come across in quite a long time, and the all-important user interface is really well designed indeed. It is truly a joy to use & does everything I need. The automatic data-entry mechanisms & scope for maintaining pick lists etc are exactly what is required to facilitate the arduous task of data-entry, and the facilities for listing, displaying images, sorting, and printing are superb and very intuitive.

I found that the competitor products quite often failed on automatic lookups via ISBN (particularly those systems designed in the USA), whereas Book Collector has very rarely done so up to now- I'm amazed at how often it finds details for books I have which are 50 years old or more & don't show an ISBN (or even an SBN!).

So congratulations on a really brilliant piece of software - I would recommend it to anyone needing to catalogue their book collection. — G C Pearce (United Kingdom) on Book Collector

March 07, 2017
Marvelous software program
Collectorz is a marvelous software program. It is so intuitive, beautifully designed and user-friendly. I have a fairly large library and I have never had it more cataloged and organized! — Dan G. Olson (USA) on Book Collector
February 27, 2017
THE VERY BEST
I just wanted to say that I just renewed my Collector software for books. One of the major reasons I renewed, in addition to me loving your product, is that you have THE VERY BEST SUPPORT i have ever seen in the industry. When I have had questions over the years, I have asked and you have answered quickly with comprehensive, specific instructions to help me fix my issue(s). Keep up the GREAT job and thank you very much for an excellent product. — Larry Fretts (USA) on Book Collector
February 16, 2017
The best
Love CLZ. Have all of my books and related info catalogued in the best and most accessible of ways. — Julie McBride (Australia) on Book Collector
February 02, 2017
WONDERFUL program
Just as a side note, I’ve been very pleased with Book Collector. It is a WONDERFUL program. Although I’m prone to editing my desktop copies of the downloaded Core pages to suit my personal tastes, the Core still saves a remarkable amount of time.
My very best to you all, you’ve done a GREAT JOB with these programs! — R.W. (USA) on Book Collector
January 23, 2017
BRAVO
I am a happy retired 78 years old computer enthusiast. I have been using Book collector now for several years, on and off. Recently I purchased the mobile version to use with my iPad. What a change since the beginning. I love it more and more.
I do not have a question for you today, I simply want to tell you BRAVO and thank you to all the team for your excellent work. — Ghislaine Laramée (Canada) on Book Collector
January 16, 2017
A real time saver
I love your programs (I also have the Music Collector). I have an extensive library of English and German language books. A substantial part of my library is reference material and Book Collector and its search features are a real time saver. I currently employ an IT student for data entry and proof his work on my iPad. The next step for myself will be entering all my eBooks. I use the iPad for my own data entry. Works great! — Irene Hahn (USA) on Book Collector
January 13, 2017
6+ stars
I have been using Book Collector for a very long time now. It has steadily shown a continual process improvement and in my humble opinion is better than some of the large library cataloging system software my wife used as a librarian. Recently I just added Movie Collector to the collection software I now use and it is also a great product.
I highly recommend all of the apps Alwin and the folks at CLZ have developed. The interface is intuitive and easy to follow. The money spent on these programs is money well spent. I love the update program as it allows one to be absolutely sure that you are in possession of the latest version and fixes. My personal rating for these PROGRAMS is 6+ stars....
Thanks to all of the CLZ team. — Edward Fry (USA) on Book Collector