Home What's new? Reviews Buy Support

Book Collector reviews

November 27, 2018
Love your program
I continue to love your program, it certainly is one of my top ten if not my favorite. — Joseph Shidle (USA) on Book Collector
November 22, 2018
Thanks for all your help
It is Thanksgiving Day here, and while I have a lot to be thankful for in a life that has been richly blessed with friends and family, I must say that I'm extremely thankful to you and the whole crew at CLZ. I'm constantly learning new things in how to use this program and I'm so grateful that no one ever makes me feel stupid or silly (even when that is the case)!
So, thanks for all your help. — Peggy Beatty (USA) on Book Collector
November 19, 2018
Great tools
Me and my organisation enjoy your software a lot. We have an amateur library and your tools are great for that. — DP (Netherlands) on Book Collector
November 12, 2018
Love this program
I do love this program to keep track of my books. I love reading. This has helped me not buy duplicates (partly why I want kindle books added to my list). Been known to buy a book twice because forgot already purchased it. Lol. Now I can look it up on my phone so I don’t do that. — Sara J (USA) on Book Collector
November 05, 2018
I love this program
I've been using Book Collector for 2 years now and I've finally gotten my ebook inventory completely entered. I know I often contact you with questions, suggestions or bug reports, so I wanted to take the time and let you know how much I love this program. I looked for a long time for a catalog/database program that would let me enter the info I wanted to keep track of. Your software more than fits the bill wonderfully. The fact that I can customize so many fields to match my needs is fantastic. — Brenda Claussen (USA) on Book Collector
November 05, 2018
I'm a real 'book-aholic'
My collection of books has grown till more than 8900 books today. For years ago I used a little library program I'd found in internet. It was for free and so it has its restrictions. I don't know no more the year I heard the first time from Collectorz.com. It must be one of the starting years of this excellent program. When I used it the first time, I immediately was devoted to it: now I had the opportunity to find each single book any time in any place!!! From the fast 9000 books I have entered 6450 books in this wonderful program bookcollector: complete with all the data of the books: title, short content, a picture of the front and the back, something about the writer, the edition, the date, the genre, the purchase, the price, the dimensions, the place where to find the books: the kitchen, livingroom, the corridor, the study room, or in my bedroom. And finally I can see the on witch shelf of my big library the book is and or I've lent a book to one of my friends. Since I use this program I can find everything and I never have lost one of my books no more.
A few years after purchasing and using Bookcollector I bought MovieCollector and MusicCollector too and the possibilities to order my collections are endless!!! These three great programs are really indispensable for me! So all my praise goes to Alwin and his team who enabled me to enjoy optimal my collections. — Hub Koken (Netherlands) on Book Collector
November 05, 2018
Great product
Great product, super duper support. I love this application for keeping track of my library. — Mary R (USA) on Book Collector
November 02, 2018
Ideal product
I've had Book Collector for quite few years but probably don't use all the features. I have a couple of hundred speciality books which I loan to people and I found the loan management facility so easy to use, I haven't lost a book since starting to use it. Entering new books into the catalogue/database is also very easy. All in all, this product is ideal for me and the upgrades to the app are absolutely trouble free. — Ian Wilson (Australia) on Book Collector
November 02, 2018
Awesome program
What can I say? I love my Book Collector. I've so many ebooks and physical books its overwhelming. Before I bought your software, I had double and sometimes triple copies of books I'd already purchased and now, with your software I can stay on target with my books and copies are of the past. I have no funny anecdotes to share but I am very happy with my Book Collector and thankful that you had the foresight to create such an awesome program to make not just mine but other people's collections, be it books, music, games, movies.... such an easy way to keep us organised that we no longer have headaches trying to find what we want to read, watch, listen to or play.
I also am very happy with the prompt responses to any questions I may have. I have you as a friend on Facebook and have not hesitated in asking questions. Your responses have been precise and fast. I like that. It shows you listen to the consumer and do your best to give us what need. Thank you for that.
I also love the app that works wonders when I'm in the bookstore. I can check my collection and add my purchase or just add to the wish list with the bar-code. That is just another part of your Collectorz software that I am happy to have in my devices.
The price for your software is a bonus, it's reasonable and affordable, which keeps me coming back to update. So, again I thank you and although I've done it many times now, I will keep recommending your software to all those I know need it for their own collections. — Angèle Young (Canada) on Book Collector
October 28, 2018
My love with books
What should I tell you about my love with books? It is a very long story.
I am now 62 years old. Born in the old German Democratic Republic as the first son of a teacher of Latin language. My father loved books, and so it was just normal, that I also loved them. In this time and in this country it was usually to read. Everybody read books. Books were cheap, books were all over, and there are libraries. It was easy to read. The GDR was a country of readers. However, it was not so easy to get the right books. That was the other side of the medal. If you like special books, you have to find a way to get it.

In this time, the people in the GDR know the term "Bück-Dich-Ware" ("Stoop-For-Goods”). That means the bookseller had to stoop. Because he had only a few books of a special print, so he had hidden these books under the counter. That is why it was very important to have a good relationship with the seller in the bookshop or at the kiosk. In addition, it was necessary to go every week and visit the shop. May be he has news or (much better) new books. It was not possible to order or to pre-order. You had to be at the right time on the right location and (!) You had to know the right people. In this time I had three special areas, I liked. At first books about railways. These books were extremely rare, very difficult to get. Second was Science fiction or "fantastic" literature, how they named it in the GDR. These books you could get easier. In addition, the third was a difficult thing. A publishing company (that never exists anymore) created a book series named "Kompass". These books were small, very cheap and printed as paperbacks. The subjects were very different. You could find sci-fi, youth literature, world famous books, thrillers and much more. Ten to twelve times a year a new book appear. No one knows on which day. Moreover, what would we get? It was so exciting. These book series was part of my childhood, part of my youth.

The years passed. I got older, I studied, I found my beautiful wife (also loving books). We got two sons. Then came the year 1989. Everything was changing. Not only the big things. No dictatorship of a lonely party anymore. Many possibilities to go on vacation, wherever you want (and could pay). Huge offers of food, dresses, and cars. And now there are books without an end!!!!

Again time passed. I found a good job with a good income. My beloved wife the same, new job, good income. Therefore, we decided to buy a house.

It was not easy in these days, because often the real ownership structure was not clear. However, we did it. It needed a lot of money, mostly credit, and a lot of own manpower and the help of our families. My father in law often told that this house is much too big for us. He did not know our secret idea: We want to have our own library. Not only a shelf or two. No. An own library. An entire room only with books.

And that's what happened. We created our most beloved room, our library. Four walls with shelfs from floor to ceiling. It was one of my most beautiful moments of my life to put in the first books.

Now the shelf are full of books. We have more than 6.000 books all over the house. There is not a room without books. Our children are already grown up, but our books will life with us together until the end. And so I got a new problem. How to find a book? Which shelf? There are too much to remember. Searching Amazon, finding a new book creates the question: Do I own it? Standing in a bookshop, looking at a beautiful book, the same question. Have it or not?

That was the reason why I begun to search a program for managing my books. Since this time, I am using Book Collector. It took a long time to fill the app with my entire book and to scan all covers. But now I not only love my books, I know which books I love. Thank You, Book Collector.

That is my story of books. But please do not misunderstand: I am part of the modern world. We have e-books; we are also using reading flat rates. However, a printed book is a special thing. You can feel it and smell it. Very special. Like magic.

One day I am going to die. I hope I can take a book with me. — Oskar Schoenherr (Germany) on Book Collector

October 26, 2018
Using Book collector since many years!
Started to use it when I realised that I was starting to buy duplicates of books I already had and read. Wanted to find a solution both for stationary and mobile usage! Book Collector was!
Now I have put in 2590 books I.e. all my books in and are never buying duplicates any more. As soon as the book enters my front door it is added to Book collector before it hits the shelf. It saved me a lot of money and I also have track on which books I read as a bonus — Erik Nordmark (Sweden) on Book Collector
October 25, 2018
Helps me know what I have
I have a large collection of Books and wanted a way to know what I had purchased. So the collection Helps me know what I have. I also have what shelf and bookcase the book is located. — Aaron Cooper (USA) on Book Collector
October 24, 2018
Very useful
I can't remember how I came across the name now, and while I use both the books and movies/DVD ones, it's the books that's more of my interest. My system is that books I've read, and my mother also, upon their return, are put onto the Book Collector program, then stored in my garage. I print out the lists to take around with me for bookshops, sales, etc, that way I know what I've got.
I find being able to enter the exact ISBN for hardback/paperback versions very useful as I'm a librarian by trade so have used several different software programs for loans/returns. And the extra tweaks over the years have made things easier to use Collector, including the 'ISBN not recognised' so I can add those books to the collection/list. — Amanda Witt (Australia) on Book Collector
October 23, 2018
OMG I love this program
I have books, lots of books. Before I found Collectorz, I must have tried a half a dozen programs to catalog my books. Nothing really worked the way I wanted it work. Then I came across Collectorz.com and tried the program. LOVED IT immediately. Then I added the CLZ Cloud, then CLZ Mobile. My collection was soon approaching 1000 books. Believe it or not, I read most of them. I had cookbook collections, 21 Years of Science Fiction and Fantasy. To begin I typed in the codes and then went to the scanner program on my phone, tremendous advantage. Unfortunately, I had to move and my collection shrunk somewhat, but I always know what I have and what I need to complete a collection. I think I would be lost, if I could not catalog my books but I have no qualms about keeping up the status of my books. I love this program and I tell everyone I know that has a collection that this is the best collection data base ever!!! — Carolyn Peters (USA) on Book Collector
October 18, 2018
My mad poetry collection obsession!
I have over nine hundred volumes of comtempoary poetry in my book collection which are valued at tens thousands of pounds. Keeping a record of them is critically important for any insurance claim I may make but more importantly, Collectorz allows me to readily access all the data of my collection like...search my collection on a wide variety of criteria, when I bought the book, have I read it, loaned it out, and, most importantly stops me from buying books I already own. (Trust me, before Collectorz I regularly bought books I already own.)
I also love that I can add book covers and I can customise the data fields to what suits my needs. I have been a fan for years and always will be. Highly recommended. — Gordon Connolly (United Kingdom) on Book Collector
October 08, 2018
Thank you for making it easy!
I have collected over 3000 books. At first, I was using End Note to build my library catalog. It became hard to use as I am also a comic collector. My wife retired and I was not able to get a copy of End Note for a new computer.
I found Collectorz as a new tool. I got the Book Collectorz first and converted my data. Then I got Comic Collectorz and began to enter my comics. I have entered over 800 new issues and I have ten boxes of comics I haven't entered yet. I also have music and movies to enter. I don't play or collect video games but I do have a growing collection of board and card games. For instance, several versions of Catan, Acquire, Monopoly, Poo, Cribbage (several boards) and many more. I need a collectorz version for Board Games. I have acquired a bar code scanner that makes entry easier. I recently converted to the Cloud. Thank you for making it easy! — Jan Fisher (USA) on Book Collector
October 07, 2018
Books Do Furnish a Life
I’ve been a bookish person all my life. I wrote in my autobiography, An Appetite for Wonder, as a child I was “a secret reader who used to escape to my bedroom with a book instead of rushing around outside in all weathers in true Dawkins tradition.” And still today in the age of electronic publishing, I cannot resist the lure of the printed book and I work surrounded by my collection of 3000 volumes. Now about to move into a smaller flat, I have it planned so that all three bedrooms and the main passageway are almost completely lined with books: “Books do Furnish a Room” indeed! In keeping with this, my next book will be called Books do Furnish a Life. It is an anthology of previously published Book Reviews. and Forewords and Afterwords to other people’s books.

Such a large library demands a decent catalogue, especially when moving house. Alwin Hoogerdijk’s Book Collector is as close to a godsend as my theology allows. As an old programming hand myself, I recognize from the inside just what a clever piece of software it is. I’d like to praise not just the product itself but the exceptionally friendly aftercare advice and help, from Alwin himself and his colleagues. I’ve lost count of the number of people to whom I have recommended Book Collector.

Richard Dawkins

University of Oxford — Richard Dawkins (United Kingdom) on Book Collector

October 02, 2018
Your dedicated help has been invaluable!
Dear customer support,

Your dedicated help has been invaluable! You analysed our challenges, and you provided very precise instructions for us to apply..
So with your help we overcame today all our challenges, and everything in the new Book Collector version 18 functions perfectly well on the Mac and on the Mobile IPhone 7.

We are sincerely grateful for all you and Alwin have been doing so well for us. Please tell Alwin!
We shall recommend your firm everywhere we can in Denmark and abroad - and that is very easy to do also in practise: just taking the mobile up and showing the marvellous registration in the exquisite version 18! — Hans Chr. Wolter (Denmark) on Book Collector
September 26, 2018
Love your products
I love your products! Thank you for constantly upgrading and improving on them. — Bruce Pollock (USA) on Book Collector
September 25, 2018
Lost without it
I have been using Book Collector for almost a year. I am pushing 4,000 volumes in my library and would honestly be lost without it. It is easy to learn and use and has lots of great 'extras' like support for non-Roman character sets and provisions for almost every imaginable type of data capture.
I can't rate this tool highly enough: it's the best out there and I recommend it without reservation. — Gary Mackelprang (USA) on Book Collector
September 21, 2018
Thank you!
I want to thank you for a program that functions well and that you consistently maintain and improve. — Douglas Watson (USA) on Book Collector
September 06, 2018
I commend you and your team
I have been so happy with the book collector software, especially since it can be synchronized with information on my iPhone.
It is wonderful to have a portable listing of my book collection. I commend you and your team for development of excellent products. — Bruce Wahlen (USA) on Book Collector
August 25, 2018
ALWAYS flawless
I do wish you could teach America software companies how to do software updates. Yours are ALWAYS flawless and so easy to perform. NO ONE has a better update system than you run and I am extremely thankful for it.
Just wanted to let you know I appreciate all that you do and feel you really have a fantastic system working. — James Stephen Lorson (USA) on Book Collector
August 24, 2018
Love this program
I really do love this program. I used Delicious Library for a number of years but when I moved to a new iMac I had difficulties porting my data base. I stumbled upon your program and have never looked back.
BTW, my wife and I, together with some friends, are going to be visiting Amsterdam next year. I am looking forward to seeing the Vermeer’s. — Joseph Shidle (USA) on Book Collector
July 29, 2018
Fun!
Thanks for being awesome and for making my book collecting life so much easier and more fun! — Vibeke Oseth Gustavsen (Norway) on Book Collector
July 19, 2018
Excellent program
Yours is an excellent program, which I use and have used extensively for both my academic and personal library for many years. I am currently researching the history of "The Poppy" and "The Tulip" in your regional history as part of a personal biography ( I passed many fields of both during a motorcycle-camping tour of the region in 1957 and remember both the flowers and the desolate appearance of Waterloo...beautiful flowers and memories). — Don Speer (USA) on Book Collector
July 17, 2018
Exceeded my expectations
I have been using Book Collector for a couple of weeks now and I must report that it has exceeded my expectations in form and function. It is a well thought out program that is comprehensive, intuitive and aesthetic. The customization options are awesome. Kudos to you for coming up with such a program. This is exactly what my book collection was screaming for. Thank you. — Christopher R Carey (USA) on Book Collector
July 05, 2018
Love your software
I really love your software! I've managed to catalogue most of my 3,000+ books, and I enjoy spending my spare time entering more data so everything is correct and up to date. :) — Kylie Lowe (Australia) on Book Collector
June 01, 2018
LOVE IT!
Thanks for such a GREAT product. I use it all the time, especially when shopping at old used book stores to be sure I am not double buying a book. — Larry Fry (USA) on Book Collector
May 25, 2018
Beautiful
Mate !!!
What can I say. The last update is #@*&# Beautiful
18.2 has given my laptop with 4k a new life.
The collector (Book Collector) is just that more beautiful. Before she ran nice, Now she Looks good.
Congrats from 'Down Under' — Howard Powell (Australia) on Book Collector
May 24, 2018
Thank you!
Alwin and Team,
I've been using Book Collector for a number of years now and decided it was about time that I express my appreciation to you for not only developing the best "book software" product on the market, but also, for your continuing updates and frequent communications. Book Collector has more than met my needs for the 2,000+ books I've logged. So again, a well-deserved thank you to you and your staff.
P.S. I just recently purchased Movie Collector to log all of my DVDs and CDs. I'm very satisfied. — Blaine Beckett (USA) on Book Collector
May 23, 2018
Brilliant
This isn't a question just a "well done". The clarity on the new screen text/images is fantastic. It has given the application such a clear and modern look. Brilliant.
I have used Book Collector for 15 years and watched it develop. I wouldn’t be without it. — Pat Roberts (United Kingdom) on Book Collector
May 20, 2018
Thanks!
I wanted to thank you for all your help and getting me out of this book collector nightmare. I followed all your directions and it is now working. I have zapped in 16 books today and every thing seems to be working fine.
You have been so helpful to me with all of this. I would never have got this working with out you. I really appreciate all your time and effort. — Marie Gray on Book Collector
April 20, 2018
Thank you
Thank you for being on top of this and responding so quickly. I am very impressed with your continual support and clear directions for everything related to Book Collector.
This is a thank you, a pat on the back, and a “Well Done.” — Bonnie Hamilton (USA) on Book Collector
April 12, 2018
Love your program
I love your program and recommend it to all my friends.
Some of my friends who are using your product don't just collect books. One collects comic books and another collects music. Your product is great for all collectors. — Bill Iversen (USA) on Book Collector
April 11, 2018
Great product!
Thanks again for the great support, and for the great product! — Zvi Triger (Israel) on Book Collector
April 10, 2018
Keep track
I literally have over 1000 books and trying to keep track of them all is a task. Collectorz takes the worry away. — Kim McCoy (USA) on Book Collector
February 26, 2018
Excellent product
I've neglected my collection for some time and i recently set about putting everything up to date. i just want to tell you how you've made an already excellent product even better, constantly making improvements. its a pleasure to use. I also own the book collector apps for android and IOS so you can imagine how happy i am about the ease of syncing it all. I wish you continued great success. — Loraine Mooney (Canada) on Book Collector
January 17, 2018
Awesome
Y’all are great. I’m in the process of adding about 2300 printed books. Software is awesome. — Mike Clegg (USA) on Book Collector
January 17, 2018
The best of the best
Many Thanks for your speedy reply. You guys continue to be the best of the best.
I have been using your product since version 1.0 - I have compared it to other offerings over the years and truly believe it remains the very best. — Carey Daly (USA) on Book Collector
January 15, 2018
Great program
You guys are the best... This is why I tell all my friends and even theirs to get your product...
Great program and great people. — Paul Buchanan (USA) on Book Collector
January 09, 2018
Terrific
I just wanted to say: Thank you!
The new changes are terrific. I especially love being able to choose multiple genres / subjects without having to reopen the selection list. — Brenda Claussen (USA) on Book Collector
January 09, 2018
Love your app and software
You guys are really great. I love your app and software and very much appreciate the work you put into your work. Thank you! — Michaela Sosna (Germany) on Book Collector