Home What's new? Reviews Buy Support

Movie Collector reviews

June 23, 2017
Up to 2500 DVDs
And thank you for your movie collection program, it is excellent ! I am up to 2500 DVDs and still adding. — Ronald Peterson (USA) on Movie Collector
June 01, 2017
One of the very best changes
I just thought that you would like to know that I for one think that the new Add Movies Screen is without doubt one of the very best changes that you have introduced to Movie Collector. On the day that you first added in the original change of the split scree (17.1.2) I had actually received no less that 6 new titles from Amazon on the same day that I received the email from you on the change. I’m very glad that I upgraded the database first before adding the new titles. It made everything that much clearer and dare I say easier.
About 15 minutes ago I upgrade again to 17.1.3 to take advantage of the minor add-on of series search/entries. That will be very helpful when I get my hands of season 5 of Person of Interest and season 7 of Game of Thrones. Not to mention potential other TV series.
Once again many thanks for a brilliant upgrade, — Robin A. Hood (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
May 24, 2017
Super impressed
Once again I am super impressed with the latest upgrade. I had no idea what all the notes meant actually, and then I added 5 movies today, and they were there without all the searching and picking which one and waiting.
It was so easy. Input the barcode and it knew immediately what I had, the cover photos were accurate as well.
Additionally your software now recognized my UHD version and gave me the correct design logo for it. Again the refined search engine is perfect. Keep up the great work.
Soon I expect the software to 'understand' what I like and have it ordered and delivered before I can get to the store. — Richard Niles (USA) on Movie Collector
May 17, 2017
Good thing
Have just been doing a bit of maintenance of my entries and felt I had to say how much the new facility for searching for movies to add is. The showing of thumbnails of covers is a really good thing.
Whenever I give lists of my movie or book collections to friends, they always express surprise at how good they look. — Mike Young (South Africa) on Movie Collector
May 07, 2017
Amazing
Just used the trial for a few minutes and bought the full version right away.
This program is amazing and doing everything I was looking for ages.

Just wanted to give you/the program a BIG "thumbs up" :-) — Wolfgang Bonow (Ireland) on Movie Collector

April 28, 2017
Love this program
Really love this program. With over 1,550+ movies in my collection, you can see why your program is so important to me. Thanks so much for your help. Keep-on-collectin'! — Merrick Allen (USA) on Movie Collector
April 16, 2017
I'm addicted
Just got Collectorz.com Movie Collector Pro to catalog all of my DVDs and Blu-ray and I'm addicted. Pop the barcodes with my iPhone and it downloads all of this killer metadata into my database. If you're looking for something, it's worth the dough. — Gregory Earls (USA) on Movie Collector
April 14, 2017
Delighted
Have been so delighted with your DVD collection database software for all these years.
After trying a couple of alternatives, I found CLZ and realized that I had found the best fit for me. I have been collecting DVDs for a long time. I love movies --- all kinds. I am still and yet a huge fan of your fantastic product.
I truly do feel appreciative of the ease and extensive capabilities of your product. Thank you so much. — Kathleen D Murphy (USA) on Movie Collector
April 14, 2017
Five-star support
Super fast five-star support as always!
I have been using the software every day for a few years now and I would recommend to anyone. — Ben MacCormack (Australia) on Movie Collector
March 22, 2017
Absolutely love the update
You know I have your Movie Collector for years and absolutely love the update where the software searches the movie and produces the choices of the tape/DVD etc immediately.
Bravo! — Colleen Shackleton (USA) on Movie Collector
March 21, 2017
Wonderful time-saver
Movie Collector is a well thought-out application and the ability to use my phone to scan movies and have them updated on the desktop is outstanding and a wonderful time-saver.
I look forward to discovering all the other benefits that await me." — Mark Asher (USA) on Movie Collector
March 18, 2017
Must have
To me this is a must have piece of software and it just gets better and better. — David Brown (Australia) on Movie Collector
March 15, 2017
A breeze
I love the software, only have a little over 120 movies but it makes finding and choosing a breeze and I won’t ever buy a movie I already own again! Thanks! — Chuck LaRosa (USA) on Movie Collector
March 10, 2017
Finding a Gem
I am now 60 years old and being a movie buff I started to collect movies a long time ago. It started initially with VCR’s - changed then later to DVD’s and now to the Blu-ray movies. It is a great hobby but there was something I really hated, when friend came over to watch a movie and asked: “Rudi – you remember that movie? What was it called again?” And then we started, looking for an hour through the collection and ending up not finding it…

So I had then a bright idea – being quite good with generating spread sheets – I started my own! Initially I thought it would work, but pretty soon I figured out that it was just too time consuming and that the information I ended up with was very limited.

I started to research the net and I do not remember how many “fantastic” programs I tried – somehow they all seamed not right for what I wanted. Then – 16th August 2012 I came across a website called collectorz. Yes, like many other sites they promised the world – but they were putting their money where their mouth was by giving me a free download to try their program – which was apparently packed with all features - but limited to 50 movies.

Having noting to loose, I downloaded the software, installed it and due to the easy interface it took me very little time to fill the trail database up with 50 movies. I just open the folder where I had my other movies – scanned the movies in and of it went. It was a very simple process. After this was completed I investigated what the program had actually given me and instantly I recognized the real potential and what a gem the program actually turned out to be! I finally could sort by title, genre, year, actor, director, IMDB rating etc and so many other options – the sky was suddenly the limit. And then I printed my first list – three times (!) – once sorted by title and then by year and then by IMBD rating. The looked absolutely fantastic with little picture of the movie cover!

Because of my free download I had to give Collectorz my email address – I found in my inbox an email - “Hi there! This is Alwin Hoogerdijk of Collectorz.com. - Welcome and thanks for trying our Movie Collector software! As a reward for being a smart "try-before-you-buy" customer, I'd like to give you a US $5 discount on Movie Collector.” I ended up purchasing a day later on the 17th of August 2012 the program for grand total of $24.95 AUD! I guess it was one of the best purchases I had ever made on the internet!

I do not recall which version it was, but now after close to 5 years I am running V17.02. There where many up-dates and the program became better and better. But to judge the program properly I do think that the program alone is not complete with a good customer support. So I can say that over the years whenever I had question which was not instantly answered in detail by the great “help page” on their website – I just emailed collectorz a question and I always had an answer the next day. Please consider that I live on the opposite site of world and I am therefore I calling this a great effort!

So what can I say, looking at my movie collection – You ask me for a movie and I give you the movie! Just give me a second! And with the grand kids – I am the big star and favourite granddad – as soon they come over the kids asking me for the movie list and it takes them a while to choose the movie, because they just enjoy the many colourful movie cover pictures.

So if you have a movie collection and you do not know “WHAT” you actually have….just stop pulling your hair out and get the movie collectorz program!
I therefore close this letter with the statement that I do not know all movie collection programs – but this one is definitely a gem….

Thank you & best regards to Alwin, Syts and the whole team from OZ! — Rudi Jahrig (Australia) on Movie Collector

February 17, 2017
Great addition
The new image feature is fantastic...what a great addition to the program thanks. — Larry Fraser (Canada) on Movie Collector
February 06, 2017
Fan
Long time fan. I've spent the better part of a month cataloguing my entire movie collection and digitally converting the media to my pc (all legit) my wife and I love how easy it is to just look up a movie watch the trailer and then launch the movie from the PC. — ‎Anth Russell‎ (USA) on Movie Collector
February 02, 2017
Your excellent support
I must finally congratulate you on your excellent support. I have been a regular computer user since acquiring my first IBM PC in 1982, and have over the years used a lot of different software, both for work and leisure, and there are few, if any, other programs that have provided me with such an excellent support as you have. In spite of my initial problems, which is quite normal, my introduction to Movie Collector has been a pleasure. — Hasse Nyman (Spain) on Movie Collector
January 27, 2017
Accolades
I've been faithfully using your Movie Collector program since early 20004, and am so glad your software is receiving so many accolades. That speaks volumes about your business practices, even in this day in age when customer service is almost non-existent or answered as though they didn't even read my questions. — Joseph Rose (USA) on Movie Collector
January 19, 2017
Huge improvement
Thank you SO much for the new update to the way the search engine works when entering a movie title into the "Add by title" section of the Movie Collector! What a huge improvement over previous iterations! Now I can actually see what I'm looking for at a glance as various choices pop up in the search box in real time. A huge benefit. Thank you!!! — Taig Stewart (USA) on Movie Collector
January 13, 2017
The best software
Alwin,
I received your email message regarding the unexpected problems you experienced last week, and wanted to tell you that I also noticed a problem when adding some newly acquired movies; however, the problems were minimal, and certainly not the end of the world.
You took steps to correct the problem and all is well. You still have the best software around for our collections, and I wanted to say thank you. I hope you get much more positive mail than negative, and that you don't let the vocal children upset you. In truth, I had all but forgotten about the brief issue until I read your email.
Still, we are appreciative of your ongoing hard work, and your excellent team of dedicated people making our lives better. — Don Butler (USA) on Movie Collector
January 12, 2017
These guys are awesome. I have used this app since ver 5?
I love the app the updates and the care of all the folks on your end that make these apps the BEST possible. I tell all my friends to get them. — ‎George Atwood (USA) on Movie Collector