Home What's new? Reviews Buy Support

Movie Collector reviews

September 29, 2017
The program is great
I think the program is great by the way and love the loan feature as well.
Used to do it manually in Excel and this is much better and easier with much more information available. Have recommended it to many people and I know that several, at least, have gotten it.
Thank you again for the support. The program and the service are both great. — Ron Hearn (USA) on Movie Collector
September 29, 2017
Fabulous product
I’ve been a customer, I think, from the beginning and have always been impressed with your response and support. Thank you for the fabulous product that keeps getting better. — Damien Cohen (USA) on Movie Collector
September 25, 2017
Easy and fun!
Movie Collector and OPN-2001 makes cataloging movies easy and fun!
I just wanted to take a moment to say thanks again for helping me today. You were 100% correct. After I compared the old version to the current version, I visually verified the current version is far superior to the last version I purchased. I love using my new toy, OPN-2001, with the current version of Movie Collector. Using the OPN-2001 and the current version of Movie Collector is going to save me a ton of time cataloging my movies from scratch.
When I first starting using your software, I was cataloging my movies one at a time. I think I just stopped cataloging after awhile due to the large amount of time it took processing one movie at a time. Now, I finally have the time and the tools to handle this large task that is going to make this project fast and fun. I love the new skins for the new GUI and I love how fast the software is able to import the scanned UPCs from the OPN-2001. It is absolutely amazing to watch the software do the hard work for me and allow me to see all of the great movies in my collection in one place.
Watching movies is always one of my favorite pastimes. Now, cataloging movies with the current Movie Collector is my new favorite hobby.

Sincerely,
Brian – a huge fan of Collectorz software. — Brian L. (USA) on Movie Collector

September 22, 2017
Most amazing movie cataloging software
Bought the movie pro package today and this is the most incredibly simple way to catalogue your movies! Typed in a fair few titles and finished off by scanning the DVDs and Blu-Rays using my iPhone. It couldn't be any easier to do. This is the most amazing movie cataloging software I have ever seen!!! — Gary Roberton (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
September 21, 2017
Excellent piece of software
Saw this yesterday via a suggested post on Facebook, I have been looking for something for a while now that will let me log my movie collection. Downloaded the trial, seeing how easy it was to use I bought the version for the PC. I have in a few hours logged all of my movies and TV Series. Found it so easy to use and love all the details you get about each film. Excellent piece of software well worth the money good work guys. — Karl Hall (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
September 01, 2017
Great product
I reached 2700 movies on my database. I just thought it a notable time to mention what a great product this is and how it really put the scope of my collection into focus. Thanks! — ‎David Leatherwood (USA) on Movie Collector
August 20, 2017
Very happy
I have had this app (as well as the Book and Music) versions for close to 10 years and have been very happy with my purchase. Software support is excellent as well. I think it is very reasonably priced when all things are considered. — Richard Robinson (USA) on Movie Collector
August 14, 2017
Dream come true
I absolutely love this program. It has been a dream come true for me. I use this to keep track of all my movies and it is wonderful. — Robert Hopp (USA) on Movie Collector
August 13, 2017
Great to use and organise
Great software, I have pc, android and iOS versions for all apart from comic. Love it, great to use and organise. I have about 1000 dvd/bluray in my collection. — Dave Stears (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
August 11, 2017
Love it
Have the program, love it, took a while to put all my 1239 movies on it.. but I did it.. I just need that cool case for my dvds :D — Sabrina Veldhuizen (Netherlands) on Movie Collector
August 11, 2017
Best program ever
I'm using this now, and I just love it. Best program ever. — Tom Snyder (USA) on Movie Collector
August 06, 2017
Nothing can beat the program
I have used their programs since shortly after they started and nothing can beat the program or the customer support. — Stephen Lorson (USA) on Movie Collector
August 04, 2017
Works great
This app works great I've had it for about 6-7 years I'm up to about 2500 DVD so try it it won't be sorry without it. — Dale Estell (USA) on Movie Collector
August 03, 2017
Immensely helpful
A friend and customer suggested CLZ to me quite a few years back. I started using it for my video collection of 3500 to 4000 pieces, VHS, DVD and BluRay. Still gathering my collection together, but it has been immensely helpful in saving me from purchasing duplicates in the same format. With the mobile app and cloud storage, it has become even more of a must-have tool.
I highly recommend Movie Collectorz for anyone who wants to keep track of their collection and prevent duplicate buying. With the mobile app there are no more bulky printouts to drag around and the camera works as a scanner so you can add new purchases immediately. Insurance companies will either love or hate you as you now have an accurate list of your movies. There are also features for lending titles to friends and family, so you know what is not with you at any time. Check it out, it is well worth the investment!
Now on to comics and books. Ah, the Collectorz life. — Brad Browatzke (Canada) on Movie Collector
August 03, 2017
Works perfectly
Best app ever in My opinion. Have 4500 dvd's and blu-ray catalogued so far. Works perfectly and it's getting even better with the frequent updates with new functionality — Michael Yngman (Sweden) on Movie Collector
July 31, 2017
Really a fan
Your movie collector software is about the best piece of software I have ever used. I am really a fan. — Gary Short (USA) on Movie Collector
July 30, 2017
Wholeheartedly recommend this software
Been using this software for years and have never been disappointed. Love having access to the data via the net so I can check when I'm out whether I already have bargain priced DVD in my collection of nearly 600 DVD's. Support is spot-on too.
Wholeheartedly recommend this software, and not only for Movies or Books! — Nigel Pullen (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
July 25, 2017
Perfect for this chore
After my house was flooded by Hurricane Mathew last October, I was forced to face boxes of my DVDs/Blu-Rays that I packed up before the water reached them & stored them in higher levels in my house, garage, etc. Months later after all my downstairs was repaired, I faced those boxes & the need to organize the videos back on shelves.
I was lucky enough to discover this app and it was perfect for this chore. The scanning feature for the barcodes was extremely helpful, although I soon found many in my collection that weren't in their database, that I had to add, including adding a photo of the unique addition that I had that didn't match their photos. 1500+ titles later and I was done!
Now I just add new ones incrementally and I no longer end up buying ones I already own! — Frank Wilson (USA) on Movie Collector
July 24, 2017
DVD/Blu-Ray collection
Hurricane Mathew forced me to get my DVD/Blu-Ray collection above the flood level. — Frank Wilson (USA) on Movie Collector
July 18, 2017
Indispensible
Can't live without collectorz database now. — Ronny Olsen (Norway) on Movie Collector
July 15, 2017
They help me keep my sanity
These are terrific programs.
They help me keep my sanity when trying to organize my collections. I would recommend your programs to anyone. — Larry Moore (USA) on Movie Collector
July 10, 2017
Delighted
I bought Movie Collector last weekend, and I'm delighted with it. I'm a software developer myself, albeit in a different arena and I have long been thinking about developing something myself to do something similar, but really you need not look any further than this application. Movie collector is a great little app, the bar-code scanning widget takes all the work out of scraping the IMDB, and the data is assembled beautifully in an easy to understand GUI. Absolutely correct, if you want something free, good luck; For those that are willing to buy it, you shouldn't be disappointed. — Ivan Wilson (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
July 05, 2017
Best around
I have been using this app since it first came out, years ago. — Roy Lister (Australia) on Movie Collector
July 04, 2017
Look no further
If you are reading the site questioning whether or not to purchase COLLECTORZ for your media collection, let me say you need to look no further. This programs allows you to do everything you need to do and more.
When i need to research a film for my podcast, it is all at a touch of my finger. With 3000+ films in my collection covering various formats from numerous countries it can get every detail I need and quickly.
Organization is always a battle and COLLECTORZ is the allie that i want by my side!! — Shawn Griffin‎ (USA) on Movie Collector
June 28, 2017
THE best
I have been using this program, Movie Collectorz for many, many years, and it is THE best. With a bar code scanner, you can ad a title, and it will download the front and back cover, the cast, film makers, synopsis, poster, trailer... it is the very best... I would very much recommend it for anyone who has more than a 100 home video titles. — Vincent Connor (USA) on Movie Collector
June 23, 2017
Up to 2500 DVDs
And thank you for your movie collection program, it is excellent ! I am up to 2500 DVDs and still adding. — Ronald Peterson (USA) on Movie Collector
June 15, 2017
Awesome
Awesome product. Easy to catalog my entire collection.... even the e-versions I own on VUDU, Amazon, and others. — Michael Bogin (USA) on Movie Collector
June 14, 2017
Great
The database is great. But the real work is to be able to find the DVD you are looking for on your shelves. I had to sort my DVDs by year, alphabetical order for that year and assign each DVD a shelve number. Took me a heck longer than 3 hours. I have 50 to 60 DVDs per shelve and for the most part... 2 years on 1 shelve. It is still not perfect... but it is the best I could come up with. At the beginning I was doing it by actor... because I had all the movies of my favorite actors. But that did not work out... because as I got more DVDs from many different actors... it was not practicable for finding them on the shelves. — Patrick Gerard (USA) on Movie Collector
June 12, 2017
So easy
Been using this for about 5 years now and love it. So easy to search what movies I have instead of standing staring at the book case deciding what I want to watch. over 1000 movies in my collection. — Gary Martin (USA) on Movie Collector
June 06, 2017
Very pleased
I use Collectorz Movie Program for organizing and tracking my DVD collection. I am very pleased with this program. — Ronald Peterson (USA) on Movie Collector
June 04, 2017
GOODNESS
Have used this software for over a year now. It is written and updated fairly often providing an abundance of data you can keep with each item, or keeping in mind you can ignore all the way down to the basics of.
Collectorz is coded for Windows and Apple while keeping in mind us not to smart customers. It is nothing short of GOODNESS — Patrick Frink (USA) on Movie Collector
June 01, 2017
One of the very best changes
I just thought that you would like to know that I for one think that the new Add Movies Screen is without doubt one of the very best changes that you have introduced to Movie Collector. On the day that you first added in the original change of the split scree (17.1.2) I had actually received no less that 6 new titles from Amazon on the same day that I received the email from you on the change. I’m very glad that I upgraded the database first before adding the new titles. It made everything that much clearer and dare I say easier.
About 15 minutes ago I upgrade again to 17.1.3 to take advantage of the minor add-on of series search/entries. That will be very helpful when I get my hands of season 5 of Person of Interest and season 7 of Game of Thrones. Not to mention potential other TV series.
Once again many thanks for a brilliant upgrade, — Robin A. Hood (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
June 01, 2017
Highly recommended
I love this Movie Collectorz application. I've been using it for many years. :) Highly recommended. — Todd R. Weiss (USA) on Movie Collector
May 30, 2017
Lovely
I almost made a spreadsheet list and then it struck me that technology must have thought further and I was right. So lovely just to scan most of them or even search them. — Chris Kleynhans (USA) on Movie Collector
May 28, 2017
Customer for years
I've used it for years now and can't imagine trying to keep up with my collections without it! — George T. Benton-Elliot (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
May 25, 2017
Keep track of my collection
Just started using the app on my phone the other night, when I got home from the store with a movie I already own.... been meaning to find a way to keep track of my collection. — Troy Rogers (USA) on Movie Collector
May 24, 2017
Super impressed
Once again I am super impressed with the latest upgrade. I had no idea what all the notes meant actually, and then I added 5 movies today, and they were there without all the searching and picking which one and waiting.
It was so easy. Input the barcode and it knew immediately what I had, the cover photos were accurate as well.
Additionally your software now recognized my UHD version and gave me the correct design logo for it. Again the refined search engine is perfect. Keep up the great work.
Soon I expect the software to 'understand' what I like and have it ordered and delivered before I can get to the store. — Richard Niles (USA) on Movie Collector
May 24, 2017
Complete control
I love everything about this product. It does everything CLZ says FLAWLESSLY. My collection is just over 3700 and I have complete control from my computer or phone. Great product and big thanks CLZ. — Stephen Taylor (Canada) on Movie Collector
May 18, 2017
Fabulous
I've had this software for years. Love it. The latest updates have made a great software fabulous. I love the new search capabilities. Check for a star will tell us (as we type) how many movies have this actor/actress. Start typing a name and everyone with that first name is listed along with how many movies they are in. Click enter and you have a simple list of those movies. Great help selecting movies for movie night from over 1,000 in my collection. — John Truscott (USA) on Movie Collector
May 17, 2017
Good thing
Have just been doing a bit of maintenance of my entries and felt I had to say how much the new facility for searching for movies to add is. The showing of thumbnails of covers is a really good thing.
Whenever I give lists of my movie or book collections to friends, they always express surprise at how good they look. — Mike Young (South Africa) on Movie Collector
May 17, 2017
So very easy to manage
A GREAT program to have for having some order with a large collection. Also they have outstanding customer service. My collection is nearly 2500 titles and growing and this makes it so very easy to manage. — Byford Hall (USA) on Movie Collector
May 13, 2017
Wouldn't be without it!!!
Had this AWESOME software for quite a few years now worth every penny in subscriptions to keep track of over 400 titles constantly growing in size would recommend this to anyone who has a large collection of DVD and Blu-Ray films wouldn't be without it!!! — Carl Hare (United Kingdom) on Movie Collector
May 07, 2017
Amazing
Just used the trial for a few minutes and bought the full version right away.
This program is amazing and doing everything I was looking for ages.

Just wanted to give you/the program a BIG "thumbs up" :-) — Wolfgang Bonow (Ireland) on Movie Collector

May 06, 2017
Easily keep track of what I have
Would be lost without this app. I have a large collection of DVDs, bluray ,4k located in different rooms, easily keep track of what I have and where they are with this. — Kim Hilchey (USA) on Movie Collector
May 06, 2017
Lost without it
I've used Collectorz.com Movie Collector for several years now. I'd be lost without it. — Pat Brister (USA) on Movie Collector
May 05, 2017
Very great app
It is really a very great app. I have entered over 600 titles so far and I think without this app, I would be lost. — Edward Romanowicz (USA) on Movie Collector
May 05, 2017
Great software
This software is great and does what it is meant to do.They also have software for Books and Music. — Pete MacNeil (USA) on Movie Collector
April 29, 2017
Far and away the best
I've tried over 100 different cataloging apps, and this is far and away the best. I've been using it for years, and will never need any other library organizer! — Bob Ferreira (USA) on Movie Collector
April 29, 2017
Like it
I've had it for years and like it. I have more than 600 movies. — Reginald E. King (USA) on Movie Collector
April 28, 2017
Love this program
Really love this program. With over 1,550+ movies in my collection, you can see why your program is so important to me. Thanks so much for your help. Keep-on-collectin'! — Merrick Allen (USA) on Movie Collector
April 21, 2017
Great app!
I've got over 2400 DVD's in my library... great app! — Terry Millder (USA) on Movie Collector
April 16, 2017
I'm addicted
Just got Collectorz.com Movie Collector Pro to catalog all of my DVDs and Blu-ray and I'm addicted. Pop the barcodes with my iPhone and it downloads all of this killer metadata into my database. If you're looking for something, it's worth the dough. — Gregory Earls (USA) on Movie Collector
April 14, 2017
Delighted
Have been so delighted with your DVD collection database software for all these years.
After trying a couple of alternatives, I found CLZ and realized that I had found the best fit for me. I have been collecting DVDs for a long time. I love movies --- all kinds. I am still and yet a huge fan of your fantastic product.
I truly do feel appreciative of the ease and extensive capabilities of your product. Thank you so much. — Kathleen D Murphy (USA) on Movie Collector
April 14, 2017
Five-star support
Super fast five-star support as always!
I have been using the software every day for a few years now and I would recommend to anyone. — Ben MacCormack (Australia) on Movie Collector
March 22, 2017
Absolutely love the update
You know I have your Movie Collector for years and absolutely love the update where the software searches the movie and produces the choices of the tape/DVD etc immediately.
Bravo! — Colleen Shackleton (USA) on Movie Collector
March 21, 2017
Wonderful time-saver
Movie Collector is a well thought-out application and the ability to use my phone to scan movies and have them updated on the desktop is outstanding and a wonderful time-saver.
I look forward to discovering all the other benefits that await me." — Mark Asher (USA) on Movie Collector
March 18, 2017
Must have
To me this is a must have piece of software and it just gets better and better. — David Brown (Australia) on Movie Collector
March 15, 2017
A breeze
I love the software, only have a little over 120 movies but it makes finding and choosing a breeze and I won’t ever buy a movie I already own again! Thanks! — Chuck LaRosa (USA) on Movie Collector
March 10, 2017
Finding a Gem
I am now 60 years old and being a movie buff I started to collect movies a long time ago. It started initially with VCR’s - changed then later to DVD’s and now to the Blu-ray movies. It is a great hobby but there was something I really hated, when friend came over to watch a movie and asked: “Rudi – you remember that movie? What was it called again?” And then we started, looking for an hour through the collection and ending up not finding it…

So I had then a bright idea – being quite good with generating spread sheets – I started my own! Initially I thought it would work, but pretty soon I figured out that it was just too time consuming and that the information I ended up with was very limited.

I started to research the net and I do not remember how many “fantastic” programs I tried – somehow they all seamed not right for what I wanted. Then – 16th August 2012 I came across a website called collectorz. Yes, like many other sites they promised the world – but they were putting their money where their mouth was by giving me a free download to try their program – which was apparently packed with all features - but limited to 50 movies.

Having noting to loose, I downloaded the software, installed it and due to the easy interface it took me very little time to fill the trail database up with 50 movies. I just open the folder where I had my other movies – scanned the movies in and of it went. It was a very simple process. After this was completed I investigated what the program had actually given me and instantly I recognized the real potential and what a gem the program actually turned out to be! I finally could sort by title, genre, year, actor, director, IMDB rating etc and so many other options – the sky was suddenly the limit. And then I printed my first list – three times (!) – once sorted by title and then by year and then by IMBD rating. The looked absolutely fantastic with little picture of the movie cover!

Because of my free download I had to give Collectorz my email address – I found in my inbox an email - “Hi there! This is Alwin Hoogerdijk of Collectorz.com. - Welcome and thanks for trying our Movie Collector software! As a reward for being a smart "try-before-you-buy" customer, I'd like to give you a US $5 discount on Movie Collector.” I ended up purchasing a day later on the 17th of August 2012 the program for grand total of $24.95 AUD! I guess it was one of the best purchases I had ever made on the internet!

I do not recall which version it was, but now after close to 5 years I am running V17.02. There where many up-dates and the program became better and better. But to judge the program properly I do think that the program alone is not complete with a good customer support. So I can say that over the years whenever I had question which was not instantly answered in detail by the great “help page” on their website – I just emailed collectorz a question and I always had an answer the next day. Please consider that I live on the opposite site of world and I am therefore I calling this a great effort!

So what can I say, looking at my movie collection – You ask me for a movie and I give you the movie! Just give me a second! And with the grand kids – I am the big star and favourite granddad – as soon they come over the kids asking me for the movie list and it takes them a while to choose the movie, because they just enjoy the many colourful movie cover pictures.

So if you have a movie collection and you do not know “WHAT” you actually have….just stop pulling your hair out and get the movie collectorz program!
I therefore close this letter with the statement that I do not know all movie collection programs – but this one is definitely a gem….

Thank you & best regards to Alwin, Syts and the whole team from OZ! — Rudi Jahrig (Australia) on Movie Collector

February 17, 2017
Great addition
The new image feature is fantastic...what a great addition to the program thanks. — Larry Fraser (Canada) on Movie Collector
February 06, 2017
Fan
Long time fan. I've spent the better part of a month cataloguing my entire movie collection and digitally converting the media to my pc (all legit) my wife and I love how easy it is to just look up a movie watch the trailer and then launch the movie from the PC. — ‎Anth Russell‎ (USA) on Movie Collector
February 02, 2017
Your excellent support
I must finally congratulate you on your excellent support. I have been a regular computer user since acquiring my first IBM PC in 1982, and have over the years used a lot of different software, both for work and leisure, and there are few, if any, other programs that have provided me with such an excellent support as you have. In spite of my initial problems, which is quite normal, my introduction to Movie Collector has been a pleasure. — Hasse Nyman (Spain) on Movie Collector
January 27, 2017
Accolades
I've been faithfully using your Movie Collector program since early 20004, and am so glad your software is receiving so many accolades. That speaks volumes about your business practices, even in this day in age when customer service is almost non-existent or answered as though they didn't even read my questions. — Joseph Rose (USA) on Movie Collector
January 19, 2017
Huge improvement
Thank you SO much for the new update to the way the search engine works when entering a movie title into the "Add by title" section of the Movie Collector! What a huge improvement over previous iterations! Now I can actually see what I'm looking for at a glance as various choices pop up in the search box in real time. A huge benefit. Thank you!!! — Taig Stewart (USA) on Movie Collector
January 13, 2017
The best software
Alwin,
I received your email message regarding the unexpected problems you experienced last week, and wanted to tell you that I also noticed a problem when adding some newly acquired movies; however, the problems were minimal, and certainly not the end of the world.
You took steps to correct the problem and all is well. You still have the best software around for our collections, and I wanted to say thank you. I hope you get much more positive mail than negative, and that you don't let the vocal children upset you. In truth, I had all but forgotten about the brief issue until I read your email.
Still, we are appreciative of your ongoing hard work, and your excellent team of dedicated people making our lives better. — Don Butler (USA) on Movie Collector
January 12, 2017
These guys are awesome. I have used this app since ver 5?
I love the app the updates and the care of all the folks on your end that make these apps the BEST possible. I tell all my friends to get them. — ‎George Atwood (USA) on Movie Collector