Home What's new? Reviews Shop Support

Reviews from customers

December 17, 2010
Best money I ever spent
I have the OPN-2001. I got it the day I ordered my software 2 years ago.
I got my 500+ DVD collection entered in about 2 hours and the portion of my book collection that had bar codes entered in about an hour.
Best money I ever spent.
I was able to scan everything without having to bring each item back to my desk. I highly recommend it to anyone with a large collection. — Brian Miller on Movie Collector
December 07, 2010
Love it!
Has all the functionality of the iPod app with a better screen layout.
Can also sort movies by runtime. Love it! — Graham on CLZ Movies
December 06, 2010
Happy
I wanted to let you know how happy I am to finally see the scan and add feature. I have been a customer since version 5 and had used your software nearly everyday until one of my sticks of RAM decided to corrupt my movie collector database. I had stopped using your software for a few months as at the time I had roughly 650 digital copies of my movies and I really did not want to manually add them all again.

Now I have over 700 and decided to check out what you have done with the software. To my surprise, version 7 introduced the scan and add feature, this feature has saved me countless hours of adding movies to my database. I added all 713 movies in a matter of a couple hours rather than days or weeks. The thing that took me the longest this time was just making sure the search grabbed the correct movie and even that was quick and painless.

Another thing I would like to add is being a previous customer, this is the first time I purchased the pro version and I can say that I will not be going back to the standard version as the integration with Windows Media Center is beautiful. I use a Media PC on my home theater system and have actually never used Windows Media Center, though now that I have seen first hand how well it can work when there is data for each movie I will now be using it on a regular basis.

Thank you so much for adding the scan and add feature, I can open up movie collector again and have all the movie covers and details and now I don't have to scroll through a boring folder with all my movie files. My friends also appreciate that there are details for each movie again, it is quite hard to pick something to watch when you just have a folder filled with over 700 movies and no details on them.

Thank you!! — Sean Marginet on Movie Collector

December 02, 2010
I may be your biggest fan!
I went on a shopping frenzy this year. I've found MANY incredible sales on DVDs (mostly used) and I actually bought almost 2000 DVDs this year. It's not uncommon to buy 10 to 20 discs in one day.

At one sale (two stores going out of business) I bought 130 DVDs in one day! (At $1 a piece!) There's no way I could have managed so many new arrivals in such short order without your program. It's been invaluable to my collecting.

I tell everyone it was obviously designed by people who understand collecting because it has every piece of information a collector would want to know or enter.

I may be your biggest fan. And on top of that, all this wonderful, personal service from you. (I even tried to encourage one of my retailers to carry your software. But he felt it would be just as easy, and cheaper, for his customers to buy direct from you. -- But they need to know about it first.)

Your ipod application I tell people is my favorite application on the planet! It is essential for me to take whereever I shop to see if I already have a title.

I also bought your Music Collector. One of these days I'll tackle THAT other extensive collection of mine. As slow as work as been (I'm a freelance video editor - produced a lot of bonus features for Disney DVDs, in fact) you'd think I'd have the time. But I guess my "spare time" this year has been spent shopping!

I had to buy a new video projector a year ago. I went overboard and bought a very high-end machine (SIM 2). DVDs now look so great, the projector just sits up on the ceiling, and like Audrey from Little Shop of Horrors, says, "Feed me. FEED ME!" — Les Perkins on Movie Collector
November 08, 2010
By far the best yet!
I have been using this program for about 5 years now. The latest version is by far the best yet ! So easy to use, and seamless integration through to my IPod Touch.
I had been looking around for years to find a program like this, and now here it is !

Even some of my rare movies are found with ease on your database.
Tech support guys are quick to respond and very helpful (If you do need help). Keep up the good work guys ! You truly have an amazing program! — Geoff Bowman on Movie Collector

October 28, 2010
So Simple
Your software program has been a God send.
Thank you so much it has made the task of sorting my husband's ( grumpy old man that he is) 1,001 :) DVDs so simple. We now know exactly what is in the collection and are no longer overwhelmed by trying to search for titles when we want to watch a movie.
Now I need to sort his CDs, probably about 1,000 of them also.
Thank God I am retired and have the time to do this, it's great to have all the DVDs in pouches now and not taking up so much room in the house. The hallway was full, now I can move the furniture if I need to leave in a hurry!... LOL — Maria Williams on Movie Collector
September 30, 2010
So easy to use
I just love Movie and Music collector as they are so easy to use when you have the bar code reader.
Any one who has a lot of CDs or DVDs I can recomend these programs.
Well done Alwin and team. — Craig Samson on Movie Collector
August 11, 2010
Off the charts!
Just wanted you guys to know that I received my Scanner Package along with Movie Collectorz Pro Version Disc Monday, 9 Aug 2010 and I was pleasantly surprised at how efficient the two products work together.

I had my entire library of DVD's organized in the software in a matter of 45 mins or so!
The software is great and the scanner is outstanding! On a scale of 1 to 10 I would rate your products a 20!!! (off the charts!)

Keep up the good work! — Ronald Golden on Movie Collector

July 06, 2010
easy to use & simple to follow
Collectorz team!

First let me say I have been searching for sometime now for a better way to ensure that I don't repurchase DVD's I already own. I have a collection of DVD's and Bluerays of well over 2000 titles so remembering them is getting hard! I found this program while searching for a video store system thinking that was the only way I would be able to keep track of what titles I have and who I have loaned them to friend wise.

The software is a amazing, it's easy to use and simple to follow. I am amazed at how very little time it takes for a newbie to pick it up and run with creating a list. I now have all my movies listed and with the added iPhone app CLZ Movies, I can now ensure that I take my collection list everywhere I go!

The communication from the Collectorz team has been second to none, making me feel like I not only purchased a great functioning software I am part of a greater community. I have no hesitation in recommending this awesome software bundle to anyone, it not only saves you money (from repurchasing titles) it saves you time (taking them back to the store because you already own them!)

Look forward to the next release guys! Keep up the great work! — Haydn Pollard (Australia) on Movie Collector

May 29, 2010
2,500+ Movies
Been using collectorz for about 4 years now on both PC and MAC. And now on iPhone!
Nothing comes close when cataloging my 2,500+ movies. iPhone version is fantastic. — Marcel Verheyden on Movie Collector
May 02, 2010
A Real Boon
I have been a fan of movies and tv shows since I can remember, and when I started collecting dvds 5yrs. ago, the Collectorz program helped in a major way to organize it all.
I now have over 4,000 movies and 100 tv shows, and this program has been a real boon for me! — Jason Doucette on Movie Collector
April 29, 2010
2,703 Movies
I have been useing Movie Collector for some time now and very happy with it.
2,703 movies and before when I had 1,000 I was using Excel speed sheet.
Thank you — Dave Cayer on Movie Collector
April 29, 2010
Quick and Easy
I have been using Movie Collector for many years now and I have to say that it is quick, easy, and very efficient and allows me the chance to get to my DVD collection in seconds.
Thank You! — David Reid on Movie Collector
April 28, 2010
Practicle and Easy
Running the movie software now for about 2 years and I can say like everybody here that it is practicle and easy. I even started a file of all the movies I've seen and on paper I counted already over 300 movies (series + episodes excluded).

When somebody asks me if I know a database-program for catalogin movies, books, music or comics, I know what to recomend.

COLLECTORZ.COM all the way. — Ronny Busson on Movie Collector

April 28, 2010
Great and Practical Software
I am an avid DVD collector with over 3,000 DVDs. Couldn't magage my collection without Movie Collectorz (since 2003).
I also include my VHS Tapes, Blu-Rays & Laser Discs. It is so flexiable and easy to use. With four different video storage locations in my home, Collectorz is the only way for me to know exactly where each title is located.
Great & practical software guys. — Patrick O'Rourke on Movie Collector
April 27, 2010
A Great Organizer
You have been wonderful.
You've always answered my questions--even if they were non-sensical.
You have been prompt and exact.
I have been a loyal purchasser of your software--probably bought the first system you published. It is a great organizer, and, of course by now, I know pretty well how to organize what I want listed.
Yeah! for the good guys. — Barbara Simmons on Movie Collector
April 17, 2010
Can't Wait To Get Started
Just discovered this program and can't wait to get started!!!
I can FINALLY organize my Collection of Movies. Not to mention all of the Games for 3 Teenage Boys! Thought I was doing good keeping my dvd titles in alphabetical order.
This is MUCH better! How did I ever manage without it? — Susan Black on Movie Collector
April 08, 2010
Does What It Says
WOW simple little program, easy to use, does what it says, and made my cataloging so much easier.
Thanks. I'm beyond happy with my choice of Movie DB software!!!! — Dave Parella on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
A Breeze
I am using the Movie, Music and Book Collector softwares and have all three on my IPod Touch.
These are great software that help me to catalog what's in each of my library and I can see at a glance on my Ipod Touch what I have already so I do not duplicate it.
Cataloging over 1,275 movies was a breeze with the Opticon scanner. — Bernadine Dill on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
I Really Enjoy It
I have had this program for about ten years now. I really enjoy it.
It makes cataloging my large movie collection easy. Thanks guys. — Shannon Birkholz on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
CLZ Movies
I just showed the Clz Movies iPhone app to a friend who uses the PC app, and she said "that's a good reason to buy an iPhone!" — Lesley Longhurst on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
Wonderful Program
Love my Movie Collector Program - it's helped me from buying the same DVD twice several times now.
Thanks for your wonderful program. It's so easy to use. — Wendy Jaroslawski on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
The Movies I Have
Since I started using Movie Collectorz, I could tell which movies I have.
Before I ended up buying the same movie that I have.
Thanks Collectorz.com — Sabrina Nalley on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
1,847 And Counting!
1,847 and counting!
My credit card company keeps sending me thank you notes and you guys keep my DVD's organized!!!! — Daniel Billington on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
A Godsend
I can never remember what titles I have got, so it's a godsend that I have Music & DVD Collectors, otherwise I would be buying the same CD's or DVD's over again.
Keep up the good work, and can't wait till you introduce the Blackberry programe. — John Daw on Movie Collector
March 30, 2010
Thumbs Up
I love, love, love Movie Collector!
I have been using it for several years now. I have not ventured to use the online app yet, but I should. It would keep me from buying duplicates.
Thumbs up to you guys! — Julie Wedgworth on Movie Collector
March 29, 2010
Keep Me From Buying Duplicates
I LOVE Collectorz's Movie Collector and the Clz Movie app!
Not only does it keep me from buying duplicate movies, I can also find any movie in my 1,000 plus collection in seconds! — Robb House on Movie Collector
March 29, 2010
So Simple
I have Movie and Book collector - and still uploading...
I love finding the movie and book and adding it - so simple... I also love how I can "loan out" and know Who has got What - and When they took it...
Last year I found that I had "lost" 4 movies - from the previous year - lending them out and not getting them ...back.. of course everyone I asked did not have them.
Very expensive lesson - Thank you Collectorz for enabling me to take control... — Justine Wright on Movie Collector
March 29, 2010
The Best Thing
The best thing Movie Collector did for me was free up space. By getting rid of the jewel boxes and using the index field to locate the DVD I want in a hanging file folder, I have my entire 600 movie collection stored in 4 drawers instead of occupying all the space on 4 walls. — John Thomson on Movie Collector
March 29, 2010
Paid For Itself
I use Collectorz for my movie collection. I have around 800 movies. This wonderful database paid for itself the first week shopping and was able to check (via blackberry) what I already had in my collection.
It's great to know I will no longer buy duplicate movies! — Nadine Fortier on Movie Collector
March 13, 2010
Outstanding Program
My wife and I use Movie Collector to keep track of our 2,714 movies.
Its an outstanding program and I recommend it to everyone! — Ronald Sobieski on Movie Collector
March 12, 2010
Fantastic Program
As I near 5,000 [yea five THOUSAND] DVD movies in my collection, I can't imagine how else I could have kept track of all of these titles without Movie Collector.
This is a fantastic program ! — Rick Van Horn on Movie Collector
March 07, 2010
Beyond My Expectations
I purchased the Movie Collector this weekend and am extremely pleased with it's capabilities, especially based on the price. This product went well beyond my expectations in features and ease of use.

We current have about 50 duplicate movies since our collection was so disorganized, so this will not only be great for finding movies, but will save money at the store by eliminating the duplicate purchases!
Thanks! — Dianne Cutter on Movie Collector

February 24, 2010
Excellent Work!!
I want to tell you that MOVIE COLLECTOR IS FANTASTIC!! It is far away and above any of the competitor products! They cannot compare to you. Believe me, I know. Over the last year or so, I have tried every solution that I could find for storing my DVD library and sharing that information with my iPhone, and none of them worked worth a damn.

Using UPC codes is critical, in my opinion, since that gives you the exact results for the DVD that you own, and Movie Collector is the ONLY app that I've tested that works easily and completely with imported UPC codes. A Title search gives you only the basic info, not specific to your DVD, unless you want to comb through the dozens and dozens of Title results to find the correct one. (By the way, the Symbol scanner that I have on my system works perfectly with your software.)

When your revised Clz Movies app became available, I finally went ahead and tried Movie Collector. OMG!! What a beautifully designed piece of software, both on the desktop and for the iPhone.

Then, when I exported my Movie Collector db to the iPhone, it worked perfectly the FIRST TIME, and the resulting database on the iPhone is a complete pleasure to use. All very well designed and seamless between desktop and iPhone. As I have done a lot of programming myself, I really appreciate your fine work.

Anyway, once again, Excellent Work!! — Gary L. Maedl on Movie Collector

February 22, 2010
A Super Investment!
It's totally great!! I can't tell you how great this thing is!

I have about 2500 movies. It didn't take me very long to log all of them. All of the features of how I can look up movies in my collection is amazing. I've needed something like this for a long time. This was a super investment.

I'm just beside myself I'm so happy with it. My brother recommended the movie collector to me and I'm so glad that he did. I'm absolutely thrilled with it. :) The last time I was this impressed and excited about something I could use was when they created Amazon!

WOOOHOOO! Collectorz is the best!!
Thanks for creating such a useful tool!! :) — Mary on Movie Collector

February 09, 2010
Very, very happy
I just want to let the people at Collectorz.com know that I am very, very happy with their software.
I purchased the Movie Collector about 2 weeks ago and can't tell you how much I love it!
Putting the info for my collection on my computer couldn't have been any easier. In fact, I love it that much, I just purchased the Music Pro version today.

Another plus was the customer service. There was an issue with some info on my order. I contacted them and had an answer with the correct information the next day. Very impressive!

So, thank you for everything. I will be letting everybody I know how cool this software is! — Sue Uibel on Movie Collector

January 26, 2010
This is a godsend
I would just like to say what a fantastic program Movie collector is.
I have been using it for about 4 years now and find it a wonderful tool. I especially like to be able to carry my library around on my iPhone, this is a godsend when your in a DVD store and not sure if you have a particular title or not.

I also recently changed platforms from windows to mac and found the support people fantastic.
I would recommend this program to anyone who loves movies and needs a good data base. — John Romeo on Movie Collector

January 21, 2010
Great idea, great program!!
Just wanted to say how happy I am with Movie Collector.
My collection consists of 1021 DVD's and counting. I can't tell you how many times having all those movies in a data base, has saved me from buying duplicate movies.
Great idea, great program!! — Harold Webber on Movie Collector
January 01, 2010
Better and better!
As a Mac and iPhone user of your movie collector products, I just wanted to say thanks. This is one of my favorite apps and you guys just keep making it better and better!

My Blu-ray / DVD collection numbers over 500 now. This app is a must have if you find yourself standing in Best Buy wondering if you already have that movie and in what format(s)? Pull out the iPhone and find out for sure!

Keep up the good work! — Jeffrey Scharf on Movie Collector