Home What's new? Reviews Shop Support

Reviews from customers

December 30, 2011
Great app to have
Great app to have when I'm out at bookstore and not sure if I own the title or when I'm bidding on old titles helps my memory on the condition of my collection when updating a better copy. — David Jack on CLZ Books
December 24, 2011
This software is amazing
I was looking for some software that would help me to take my library and get it under control. A fellow Pastor told me that he used Book Collector on his PC and thought it amazing.
I purchased a copy on that recommendation and started to use it. I have to admit that at first it was confusing and a bit overwhelming and the instructions were not the best.
BUT, this product is fantastic. It does everything I wanted. It takes the ISBN number and looks up the book in the CLZ Book Database, it then downloads copy of the cover and all of the pertinent information as well as a summary of the book to your database.
You then input your library information as well as your own notes, annotations, plots, characters, key words, etc. It also asks you for the information of your purchase date, price, where you bought it, etc.
I also allows you to choose categories (and add your own) so that future searches can be done quickly and easily.
It also has a lending tool. You can loan a book to someone and mark that book as "lent out" and it will track the date you loaned it, to whom, where it is and if you want, remind you to seek the return of it after a period of time. Now I won't wonder what I did with a book.
It also allows you to track in your own library where you have the book, in other words, at home, in the office, at school, etc. So, if you take it elsewhere you can mark that and when you look for the book you at least know where you last took it.
BUT THE BEST FEATURE is the scanner tool that you can download for your iPhone or iPod touch. The CLZ Buddy scanner turns your iPhone into a scanner that will pick up the ISBN bar code off your books and automatically fill it into the add feature of the software on your computer. It will allow you to add multiple ISBN's to the que before you search the database. Then you touch "search" and it finds all the info and displays it. You then touch "Add" and all the books are added to your software. It is amazingly simple.
Finally, if you want you can get the mobile app for your iPad or iPhone or iPod touch and download your library database from your computer (via WiFi) to your other device. So, if you are at a meeting and want to reference one of your books, just look it up. If someone asks if you have a book, check whether you do. Or if you are out at Barnes and Noble and see a book but can't remember (happens to all of us) if you already own it, just pull out your iPhone or iPad and check to see if you already own it. No more double purchases.
Well, enough said. This software is amazing. I don't know how I ever got along without it.
Enjoy! It is worth the price. — Dan Curnutt (USA) on Book Collector
December 23, 2011
Working perfectly
Using CLZ Barry and Book Collector to catalog my collection of game books.
It's working perfectly. Thanks! — Michael F Zabkar (USA) on Book Collector
December 20, 2011
Highly recommended
This is a well written app. Very handy for shopping and not wasting time with return of duplicate purchases.
Highly recommended for all collectors. — jjk1 on CLZ Books
December 16, 2011
Geld bespaard
Net 16 boeken gescand en ingebracht na aanschaf. Ging moeiteloos. 17de boek niet gekocht omdat ik in mijn gsm zag dat ik hem al had.
Prima app. — Lex on CLZ Books
December 13, 2011
Just love it
I have saved a lot of money since it came. Earlier we bought books already in colection, now we can see if the book isn't. — benilope on CLZ Books
December 10, 2011
Excellent job
Love this software. I have a library with several hundred books and was able to add a hundred in just a few minutes. There were a few were the ISBN and book did not match but over it did an excellent job. — Micheal R. Dickerson (USA) on Book Collector
December 06, 2011
Info literally flies to my Mac
Bought Barry for Book Collectorz.
I have to say that with my Samsung Galaxy Note (Android Gingerbread) book info literally flies to my Mac. It scans and reads book information so fast (and puts it on my Mac) that I hardly have time to put them all in!
Really well spent money. — Bianca Morandi (Italy) on Book Collector
December 01, 2011
Collectorz.com to the rescue
How to catalogue your library ....
You may think that I joke about my tea library, collectable books and shelf-improvement library - I kid you not - and I cannot bear to part with a book.
So! Collectorz.com to the rescue. It's terrific and they offer a scanner and app. — Jennifer Petersen (USA) on Book Collector
November 26, 2011
Hats off to Collectorz!!!
I don't usually take the time to leave testimonials. But i had a really frustrating situation with a large retailer today and it occured to me that in that day and age, we should be grateful for the little guys - the entrepreneurs that have the passion and pride to make a really great product.
So, hats off to Collectorz!!!
Your book collectorz software combined with the CLZ Barry app has far exceeded my expectations and has saved me many many hours of valuable time. It is a pleasure to use your product! — Jody Arthur (USA) on Book Collector
November 17, 2011
Great App!
For book lovers like myself, this is a great app for those that did buy as well their PC/ Mac software, which by the way is awsome ( they make it clear that this app does not work on a standalone basis, you have to have their software on your computer).
Perfect catalog for your personal library. — Gaucho_97 on CLZ Books
November 11, 2011
Absolutely love it!
Program is lightweight. All files are stored to SD Card. Runs quickly. Loads fast. Picture quality is stunning. Search option is lightning fast.
A++ — Tyler on CLZ Books
November 05, 2011
BookCollector App
I LOVE my BookCollector program and am always recommending it.
Now that they have improved this app it means I have my 3,000+ book collection at my fingertips it is amazing! I think the pricing is very reasonable for all the easy usability but also customizable functionality of the PC based program.
Now Adding the App is a great bonus — CreativeCompass on CLZ Books
November 04, 2011
Looks Great, Works Beautifully
The portable companion to the Collectorz desktop application is gorgeous looking on the iPad, taking full advantage of the screen real estate an allowing a decent amount of alternative arrangement options for viewing your collection.
I'd like it to be a 2-way app (so you could add data to the iPad app and synch it back to your desktop one) but I can understand that this would add a significant extra layer of complexity to the development. A girl can dream though.

In the interim I am very happy with this app, it's made my desktop version far more useful and given me one more solid reason to justify owning the iPad :) — BSquaredInOz on CLZ Books

October 26, 2011
Great app!
This is a great app!
May seem pricey at first but it has my book hunting much much easier! I just have my iPhone in one hand while I scan the shelf at a used book store.

Love it! — Sh1fty7 on CLZ Books

October 22, 2011
Fantastic product
As someone with an enormous library, this app has made it possible to cart my books (well, a list thereof) with me wherever I go.
Most importantly, the app actually works!

I can give it no higher commendation. — Meehaul on CLZ Books

October 12, 2011
Great for collecting and scouting!
I am very impressed with this application as well as the developers for their insight! You can tell that this app, and the full pc-based version (which I used extensively), were designed by collectors for collectors!
With over 5,000 books in my collection, I can't possibly track the data I need on the fly. This helps me to know most of what I need while I'm mobile. — Lavadreamer on CLZ Books
October 05, 2011
Works as advertized
Installed via WiFi to use with my PC version. Perfect on Samsung Galaxy S2. — Robert on CLZ Books
September 29, 2011
Great Extension of Desktop Program
This app rules. I go to the book store and know immediately what I have or need for books.
Easy transfer of data over wifi and excellent support. :-) — Scott on CLZ Books
September 25, 2011
Having fun
I did it almost twice now: I bought a book that I already have! So I have been searching for a program where I could scan the ISBN bar codes of all my books and let those go into a database. Well, I found the perfect program: Book Collector from Collectorz.com.
I bought the small laser scanner with it and started scanning the first shelf.

This is so much fun. Although the program doesn't find all my books (some of my quilt books are really old and not in print anymore and some front covers are missing), it is still worthwhile to get it all organized.
There's still a lot to be scanned, but once that is done, I can take the database with me and prevent that I buy the same book twice :) — Loes van der Heijden (Netherlands) on Book Collector

September 16, 2011
Superb and beautiful
This app which is a companion to the desktop application works beautifully and seamlessly. It syncs every time and allows me to display all my books on iPad and iPod.
Thoroughly recommended and worth every penny. — AWES567 on CLZ Books
August 21, 2011
Great tools
Spent most of the day working on building and filling bookcases with books for our "library" - enjoy using the software by Collectorz.com - great tools to catalog books and movies! — LauraLee Dooley (USA) on Book Collector
August 20, 2011
I seriously love this
I am a recently disabled Army Medic. I have some cognitive problems involving memory among other things. The VA informed me that I should look for software to increase my organization and to combat the memory loss.

I discovered a trial of your program yesterday. Awesome!
I hope this tool will help me organize my books as well as I think it will. It's easy to navigate (important for me!), it's a good memory support tool (no more lists of where I put stuff) and it had a trial (kick the tires).

I seriously love this and am going to recommend it to me Doc at the VA mental health clinic. It really is great.
Thanks for building it! — Ethan E. Harris (USA) on Book Collector

August 08, 2011
LOVE this program!
LOVE this program!
A homeschoolers dream, thanks! — Lori Desrosiers (Canada) on Book Collector
July 25, 2011
Great app
Great way to keep a full inventory of your personal book Collection. — Raymond on CLZ Books
July 17, 2011
I am having a blast
First, you should know I am a software engineer, having been in the business for nearly 30 years. I have coded more languages and environments than I care to remember! :-)

I must tell you that, when I saw the Web page advertising your Books collection database, I was enthusiastic. Here at last was what I needed to grapple with my 2,000 book library! I was not sure how well the software would work, but I took a chance and downloaded the premium version.

I cannot express adequately how literally overjoyed I am at using your software. It actually exceeds my professional expectations in every way. I found the tool intuitive to use, friendly, and IT WORKS!!!!! I am having a blast using it, and will unhesitatingly recommend it to all my friends.

Working, high-quality software is a rarity - as you must well know.
THANK YOU for deviating from the norm and producing such an exemplary product. — Jacques Caillault (USA) on Book Collector

July 16, 2011
Best Application for iPad
This is the best application for iPad or iPhone ever.
I actually use this app every day and could not live without it. No joke.
This is a real review from a real user. I recommend you buy the PC apps and this complimentary app and start enjoying the convenience of your collections at your finger tips. — EJMorabito on CLZ Books
May 24, 2011
Anxious to scan the books
I just downloaded the book inventory system and the scanner. I got one of my books and scanned it! Up comes the book cover picture, a description, ISBN number. WOW!

The kids are going to help me scan books intomorrow on the last day of school! WOW! This is so reasonable in price and will be so much fun. I think the kids can even scan books for check out (I have to keep reading my instructions, LOL!).

THANK YOU! I now have a way to organize my classroom books (close to 3,000 maybe?). My students are helping me clean my room and are anxious to help scan the books in! I posted on teachers.net about your product so others can have this system! — Deb Burton (USA) on Book Collector

May 16, 2011
What a pleasure...
What a pleasure to have a catalogue of all my books on Ipad.
Having scanned the bar codes into the pc version and synchronised to Ipad, I am now able to see the books on Ipad sorted according to various criteria. This app also displays a photo of the cover as well as a brief synopsis of each book.

A good way to eliminate the accidental purchase of duplicate books! — MottoMaru on CLZ Books

April 16, 2011
A time saver
Thank you for putting together an inventory program for my book collection. It has been a blessing to use.
It eliminates writing/typing down every deatail of each every book it is definately a time saver. — John W. (USA) on Book Collector
April 15, 2011
It is *perfect*
Hello, my dear Collectorz friends!
I just wanted to say 'thank you' for the latest enhancement to Book Collector - I am absolutely delighted with your update to the Pseudonym function. :-) It is *perfect*.

Thank you, as always, for your wonderful software and cheerful support! — Debbie Beier (Canada) on Book Collector

March 31, 2011
An excellent product
Before retiring I was involved in the development and distribution of several database applications internal to the company for which I worked. I want to congratulate the development team for producing this fine product.
I reviewed several other products online before purchasing this one and I am convinced I made the right choice. Ease of use and flexibility are two of its strongest points. The user can accept the default field values and definitions or customize for personal use.
As delivered, it is oriented toward a collection of fiction but it can be easily customized to include nonfiction or to configure for nonfiction only. The inclusion of the Library of Congress and Dewey decimal fields are particularly valuable in a nonfiction collection.
Data entry is easy. The user can key in field values manually or key in only the ISBN number and have the program automatically search for the remaining fields including a picture of the book cover. I have had only one question and got a prompt response by e-mail but the product is so intuitive that I solved my problem before getting an answer from customer support.

All in all an excellent product with a fair price. — Cass Moret (USA) on Book Collector

March 22, 2011
She likes it!
Hi - I just wanted to let you know that I bought a license for "Book Collector" for my wife. She just entered her collection and she seems to like it.

We did a search for an app that she could use on her iTouch and tried out a couple different ones. None of them worked as well as we needed them too.

I presently use Movie Collector and love it, so I suggested that she try your Book Collector.

She just loaded up her book collection onto her iTouch via her Book Collectorz and it is working great.

She really likes it. So far, so good!
Thanks for creating it! — Jeff Manwarren on Book Collector

March 13, 2011
Updated Version
I really like the job you did with the enhanced search capability, it now more closely resembles the PC software search functionality.
I've also noticed it seems much faster and smoother as well, I don't what is considered a large library but mine is approaching 1,000 books and growing and I just wanted to let everyone know that this software is just amazing...lovin it! — SteveJoan on CLZ Books
February 15, 2011
A pleasure to work with
Since a couple of days I'm working with your Book-Collector Software. You have done a great work, to make this computer program.
Every day I take 25 books of my Collection and put them in the database. I have a collection about 1,200 books about karate, martial arts, spirituality and Asian philosophy.
It is a really pleasure to work with it and it is so easy to do!
Thank you very much.

The Dokan Karate Foundation, The Netherlands — Andre Brockbernd (Netherlands) on Book Collector
January 26, 2011
Bring order to your life
..or at least to books, CDs, movies and what else you need to bring to some order.
Have used these programs and apps for several years, and they keep improving. Simple to use.
The newest app for iPhone is even better. — Christian Brondum on CLZ Books
January 26, 2011
Outstanding!
If your library is at the stage where you are losing track of what is in your collection, then you need Book Collector on your computer and this app - it is invaluable when making new book purchases.
Data transfer is just too easy.
I no longer buy more than one copy of a book because my memory has let me down. — *Asterisk* on CLZ Books