Search the FAQ and Manual:
FAQ: Network feature : sharing your collection
When we share a database on our network, who can view-only and who may edit?The software will automatically check if someone already has opened the collection in edit-mode. If so, any next user will automatically only be able to view, not edit.
When a user with editing rights closes the software on his computer, any next user to start the software will then be allowed to edit.
You can override this automatic feature if you prefer to set a certain computer to only have read access regardless of whether there is an editor working on the collection. There are two ways to do this.
- Run the installer with a /readonly parameter, so e.g. bookcollectorsetup.exe /readonly. This will write a flag in the Registry during installation to enable read-only mode for that computer.
- Manually set this key in the Registry. Using the Registry Editor, create a key (DWORD) in the section
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Collectorz.com\Book\Settings\ which is called ReadOnly.
Setting this registry key to 1 will force a read-only mode on that specific workstation.
Didn't find the answer to your question?
If you tried searching the FAQ and Manual and you were not able to find your answer,
then please use the Support Request Form to contact us directly.